Final call to enter $2 million LafargeHolcim Awards
Final call to enter $2 million LafargeHolcim Awards

Final call to enter $2 million LafargeHolcim Awards

Vikas Damle

Entries in the 6th International LafargeHolcim Awards for Sustainable Construction will close on February 25, 2020. The competition seeks projects by professionals as well as bold ideas from the Next Generation that combine sustainable construction solutions with architectural excellence. The Awards foreground projects and concepts from architecture, engineering, urban planning, materials science, construction technology, and related fields.

Organised by the LafargeHolcim Foundation, the world's most significant competition in sustainable design takes place in parallel across five geographic regions - each with its own jury of renowned and independent specialists. A jury of nine independent experts headed by Nirmal Kishnani (National University of Singapore) will evaluate and rank entries in the competition for the region Asia Pacific, using five "target issues" for sustainable construction. The jury also includes Philippe Block (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology " ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Chanasit Cholasuek (stu/D/O Architects, Thailand), Nondita Correa Mehrotra (RMA Architects, India), Richard Hassell (WOHA, Singapore), Christopher Lee (Co-Founder & Principal, Serie Architects, in London, Mumbai, Singapore & Beijing), Erwin Viray (Singapore University of Technology & Design), Marilyne Andersen (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology EPFL, Switzerland) and Sandra Boivin (LafargeHolcim).

Two categories with different requirements
The main category of the competition is open to architects, planners, engineers, project owners, builders and construction firms showcasing sustainable responses within contemporary building and construction. Projects must have reached an advanced stage of design, have a high probability of execution, and may not have started construction before January 1, 2019.

In addition, students and young professionals (aged 30 years or younger) may submit visionary concepts and bold ideas in the Next Generation category of the competition. Submissions may be at an early stage of design - including research and design studio work.

Entry in the competition is free and must be made in English using a web-based form:

"Target issues" for sustainable construction
Submissions are evaluated according to five"target issues"for sustainable construction - that aim to clarify principles for sustaining the human habitat for future generations. The "target issues" cover innovation and transferability; ethical standards and social inclusion; resource and environmental performance; economic viability and compatibility; as well as contextual and aesthetic impact.

Winners qualify for LafargeHolcim awards
The winners will be announced in the second half of 2020 at Awards ceremonies in each region. The main winners then compete for the global LafargeHolcim Awards in 2021, to be evaluated by a global jury headed by Hashim Sarkis, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA and curator of the 2020 Venice Biennale of Architecture.

Since 2003, the LafargeHolcim Foundation for Sustainable Construction raises awareness of the important role that architecture, engineering, urban planning, and the building industry have in achieving a more sustainable future. The Foundation expresses the commitment of its sponsor LafargeHolcim to drive sustainability in building and construction. LafargeHolcim is the global leader in building materials and solutions.

Indian Cement Review